TOURS FOR 10 PERSONS OR MORE ARE AVAILABLE AT
The Perry County Chamber of Commerce and Marion Railway Depot - circa 1907 -
1200 Washington Street. Find information and directions for the many Marion and Perry County attractions at this site.
Marion Military Institute (1842) and Alabama Military Hall of Honor, Washington
Street - This site was the original site of Old Howard College, later moved to Birmingham, now Samford University,
Lakeshore Drive, Birmingham.
Judson College(1838) and Alabama Women's Hall of Fame -
Bibb Street - Alabama's
only woman's college and the fourth oldest woman's college in the nation.
Lincoln Normal School - Phillips Auditorium , 1867, is located at Lincoln
and Lee Streets. It was founded by freed slaves as a school for African-American children. In 1887, a division
of Lincoln, The Patterson's Plantation Home for Teachers was relocated to Montgomery and later became Alabama State University.
The Alabama Baptist Building . circa 1830, is located on DeKalb Street, on the Judson
Campus . The Alabama Baptist
newspaper was first published in this building.
Siloam Baptist Church, founded, 1822, is located at 505 Washington Street.
Located in the church is the table around which the Baptist Domestic Mission Board, now the Southern Baptist
North American Mission Board, was organized. From Siloam, local slaves worshiped in the 1800s, who with support from Siloam
Baptist Church members, later established Barean Baptist Church, Washington Street, 1873.
Coretta Scott King's Home
is locaated about 10 miles from Marion on North
Perry County Road 29, The Coretta Scott King Highway.
Idella Jones Childs and Jean Childs Young (Mrs. Andrew) Home - is located at
1415 Washington Street.
First Congregationalist Church of Marion
, 1871, 601 Clay Street, is an unaltered
structure. It was constructed by freed slaves and was once pastored by Rev. Andrew Young, former mayor of Atlanta,
Georgia, who married Marion resident Jean Childs.
Perry County Courthouse,
built 1858, is on the Washington Street Square. This
is a Greek Revival Temple architecture. Sam Houston addressed the citizens of Perry County from these front steps
when he came to Marion to marry Margaret Lea. Unique in that the courthouse has never burned, it contains important
documents for geneological research.
Marion Female Seminary, 1836, is located on Monroe Street. It was founded as
a school for girls where Nicola Marschall, an art teacher in the school and native of Prusia, designed the first Confederate
flag and the Confederate uniform.
Carlisle Hall, now Kenworthy Hall,
1860, is a Nineteenth Century structure, designed
by architect, Richard Upjohn for Edward K. Carlisle. It is one of the best examples of Italian Villa style in Alabama.
King-McMillan,1819, is located at 309 Clay Street. It was built for General
Edwin D. King who served on the Board of Trustees for the University of Alabama; helped found Marion Female Seminary and Judson
College, and served to develop the Marion area. This one-story raised cottage still contains some of the original window panes
of blown glass. It is the home of Don and Jennifer McMillan.
Margaret Lea House,
West Green Street, is the home of Margaret Moffett Lea and
the site of her marriage to General Sam Houston, President of the Republic of Texas, 1840.
Reverie , circa 1858, is located at 108 West LaFayette
Street. It is a Greek revival home featuring doric columns made of triangular-shaped hand-made brick.
It is the home of Jack and Jackie Wood.
Many other significant antebellum structures can be viewed on arrival in Marion.